ImageOn April 21, 2012, the U.S. Postal Service issued commemorative “forever” stamps honoring ten 20th Century poets. Here’s the official description of the stamps from usps.comTen great poets are honored on this Twentieth-Century Poets (Forever®) stamp sheet, including several who served as United States Poet Laureate. The many awards won by this illustrious group — Elizabeth Bishop, Joseph Brodsky, Gwendolyn Brooks, E. E. Cummings, Robert Hayden, Denise Levertov, Sylvia Plath, Theodore Roethke, Wallace Stevens, and William Carlos Williams — include numerous Pulitzer Prizes, National Book Awards, and honorary degrees.

We have featured six of these poets on the Silver Birch Press blog (Cummings, Roethke, Levertov, Plath, Williams, and Stevens), and will feature the remaining four (Bishop, Brodsky, Brooks, and Hayden) in future posts.