elizabeth_taylor1
SUCH LIFE AND BRILLIANCE
by Cathy Bryant

I have never wanted to be a queen.

I never planned to acquire a lot of jewels
or a lot of husbands.

The Krupp is an extraordinary stone.
It has such life and brilliance
when light shines through it.

I am the temporary custodian.

The real Cleopatra had an incredibly complicated life
and she had to be very, very canny
to survive as long as she did.

I always wanted to be able
to connect with people in other ways
than through film.

The things that are important to me
were borne out of great passion.

Richard – we would be married again,
but it’s not up for discussion.

I have known great love.

We know too much about our idols
and that spoils the dream.

I have never wanted to be a queen.

SOURCE: “Elizabeth Taylor Talks with Kim Kardashian,” Harper’s Bazaar (Feb. 9, 2011).

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: I always loved Elizabeth Taylor – that mix of great beauty with great vulnerability and humanity. She wore the endless husbands and jewels better than anyone else could. She was to me what Marilyn Monroe is to others – my ultimate idol, flawed yet still somehow perfect.

SONY DSC

ABOUT  THE AUTHOR: Cathy Bryant worked as a life model, civil servant, and childminder (among other jobs) before writing full-time. She has won ten literary awards, including the Bulwer-Lytton Fiction Prize in 2012, and blogged for The Huffington Post. Cathy’s work has been published all over the world in such publications as The Moth, The Rialto, Third Wednesday, and The Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine. She coedited the anthologies Best of Manchester Poets Vols. 1, 2 and 3, and her latest book, Look at All the Women, was published in 2014. Cathy lives in Hope, UK. See more at www.cathybryant.co.uk , and see Cathy’s monthly listings for financially challenged writers at www.compsandcalls.com.