beary1
Staycation
by Roberta Beary

my son and i
counting fireflies
counting stars

Publication credit (without title): The Unworn Necklace (Snapshot Press, 2007).

AUTHOR’S NOTE ON THE PHOTOGRAPH: My June 2013 pilgrimage to the Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden in Springfield, Massachusetts.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: As a single parent working full time, vacations were scarce. We made our own whenever I could grab time away from the office. This poem describes the end of a perfect staycation with my son in the summer of 1997. I keep this image close to my heart.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Roberta Beary‘s book The Unworn Necklace was named a William Carlos Williams Finalist by the Poetry Society of America in 2008, the first such honor for a book of haiku. A frequent judge of haiku and haibun contests, she travels worldwide to give workshops on the art of the short poem. She is an editor of Modern Haiku and a founding associate of The Haiku Foundation. Her most recent book Deflection is a collection of haibun and haiku sequences. She tweets her photoku @shortpoemz.