jansson_need_for_speed
Need for Speed
by Mathias Jansson

I never took a driving license
But I have the Need for Speed
I want to be in Pole Position
I have driven a Lamborghini
A Ferrari, a Porsche and a Corvette
I have been chased by cops
Down a serpentine road
In high speed
I have crashed, flipped and burnt
From the highest cliff
Without a scratch
Behind the screen
I always feel safe
Gripping my virtual steering wheel

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: When I was young I started to learn how to drive, but I never finished and never took a driver’s license. Instead I spent many hours driving cars in video games. It was more fun and more safe. The image is from the video game Pole Position, one of the earliest racing games I liked to play in the eighties.

mathiasjansson1

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Mathias Jansson is a Swedish art critic and poet. He has contributed with visual poetry to magazines such as Lex-ICON, Anatematiskpress, Quarter After #4, andMaintenant 8: A Journal of Contemporary Dada. He has also published a chapbook at this is visual poetry and contributed with erasure poetry to anthologies from Silver Birch Press. Visit him at mathiasjansson72.blogspot.se, or his author’s page at Amazon.com.