Happy little girl standing on the beach
1998
by Ritika Singh

First came jealously. A brother’s
thrust past me. Unsettled
dust of bicycle
grand prix.

At eight, I finally decided to
partake in this
charade
of two wheels.

“Bhai ,
please teach me to
ride,” I
cried. “Sunday,” said he, after my ducts
dried.

Helmet. Knee pads.
Peanuts (for the show). Keys to his blue
Firefox.

“Go
Slow. I’ll
Follow. Don’t be a
coward…You
fool!” and
I was in the bushes.

Take two.
Break! Move!
1998 was the year that I
yearned to glide
learnt to ride. And painfully discovered
gravity.

PHOTO: “Girl riding bike on beach” by Altanaka, used by permission.

Singh_CurrentPhoto

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Ritika Singh is a Ph.D. scholar at the Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, India. She penned her first poem years before she learnt to ride a bike in 1998.