CATF BBQ pit
If Wishes Were Horses
by Catfish McDaris

After an easy life, I’d like to be a better father,
a good husband, a loyal friend, a decent listener,
I know that I have more money than time. I don’t
want to turn back the clocks, or fly, or paint, or
dance, or sing, or even be a great writer. I want
to remain sober, enjoy my cats, and garden. Maybe
surprise a few people with my poems and stories,
without ever worrying if I’ll become famous or rich.

If I could wish for a special skill, I’d wish to have
been a good son, grandson, nephew, cousin, and to
visit and travel in New Mexico and Old Mexico.
Mostly I wish for my daughter to love and speak
to me and forgive me. Give me guitar skills of Jimi.

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION: Me, with a bbq pit I built in Clovis, New Mexico. I think that was in 1975 , a year after I finished my 3-year hitch in the army. I was 22 & we ate a BBQed goat & drank lots of beer off that fireplace/grill.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Catfish McDaris is an aging New Mexican living near Milwaukee, Wisconsin. He has four walls, a ceiling, heat, food, a woman, a daughter, two cats, a typing machine, and a mailbox. He writes mostly for himself and sometimes he gets lucky and someone publishes his words.