Solomita
When the Tide Was High
by Alec Solomita

When the tide was high in Magnolia,
I took to the sea,
standing waist deep in the moving world,
gauging the swell of waves
with a boy’s tested eye,
then folding into each breaking crest
to surrender my small, tumbling body,
as they say in AA,
to a higher power.

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION: Not exactly apt for my poem, this is a photo of me at around five or six, c.1960 (four or five years younger than the boy in the poem) in our little backyard pool.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: I love Silver Birch Press’s prompts. This one brought back a powerful, lovely part of my childhood spent in the seaside village of Magnolia, Massachusetts. Some days, I would spend so long in the ocean that I would still feel the rocking of the waves as I fell asleep at night.

SolomitaCurrent

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Alec Solomita has published fiction in The Adirondack Review, The Mississippi Review, Southwest Review, and elsewhere. His poetry has appeared in, among others, 3Elements Literary Review, Literary Orphans, Silver Birch Press, and, forthcoming, Driftwood Press and Fulcrum: An International Anthology of Poetry and Aesthetics. He lives in Somerville, Massachusetts.