POOL
First Time at the Swimming Pool
by Geosi Gyasi

On my first day at the university, I helped her out and she asked me out.
It happens, always happens, in this strange world; a young boy, falling in      love,
wholeheartedly. You may call it love at first sight: giving up my space for      her,
in the sickly long queue, to register for English 101. The night we went      out was
my first at the swimming pool. I wanted to know her better. She wanted      to pay
me back. You swim, she asked, standing at the foot of the pool? On the      surface
of the water, my shadow noticed the fear from my heart. I am not a pool      guy, I
wanted to say, I hate water, I did not say. She dived into the pool. I      followed.
Then she started to beat the heart of the water. I too beat it harsher,      throwing arm
after arm. Soon, my body was unwilling to move. I gave up, gasping for      air.
I reached out for help. She saved me. You don’t swim, she said, with a      promise
to teach me. I felt too shy like a little innocent boy.

PHOTO: University of Ghana Swimming Pool, October 7, 2012 by PapJeff.

gyasi10

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Geosi Gyasi is a book blogger, poet, and interviewer. His work has appeared or is forthcoming in Galway Review, Indiana Voice Journal, Eunoia Review, Silver Birch Press, and Juked. He is the author of the forthcoming book Geosi Interviews Fifty Writers Worldwide (2016) from Lamar University Press Books in Texas, U.S. He is the winner of the 2015 Ake/Air France Prize for Prose. He blogs at geosireads.wordpress.com.