Roberts
Mexico
by Jeannie E. Roberts

     ―remembering my first marriage

At twenty-two, what mattered most was serving my heart
and soul, my spirit of adventure, grabbing the gusto,

moving beyond conformity and the gray wash of routine.
Ready to unite with whatever life had to offer,

I dove into marriage. As a Midwesterner living in Mexico
City, everything was exotic, including my husband.

On weekends, we’d visit nearby towns and explore ancient
historical sites, or travel further to the hypnotic expanse

of the Pacific coast. In less than four hours, we were bathed
in a tropical paradise. Acapulco’s ocean was warm, its sun

was hot, and its beach was even hotter. Here, apart from
hat, sunscreen, and bathing suit, my idea of total beachwear

included a playful dose of sand. Buried in it, I recall how
cool my body felt beneath its heft.

Looking back, any weight I carried ̶ besides the sand
and straw of my outdoor gambler ̶ had long ago been lifted.

PHOTO: The author in Acapulco, Mexico, with family, circa 1981 (photo by Victor).

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: The city of Acapulco de Juàrez, in the state of Guerrero, holds fond memories, not only of its beaches, but of its warm and welcoming people, its folk music, colorful cuisine, and its dynamic attractions (e.g. the La Quebrada Cliff Divers). And, if you haven’t been buried in sand, try it. But make sure there’s someone there to dig you out.

roberts-2

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Jeannie E. Roberts‘s fourth book, Romp and Ceremony, a full-length poetry collection, is forthcoming from Finishing Line Press. She is the author ofBeyond Bulrush, a full-length poetry collection (Lit Fest Press, 2015), Nature of it All, a poetry chapbook (Finishing Line Press, 2013), and the author and illustrator of Let’s Make Faces!, a children’s book (2009).She writes, draws and paints, and often photographs her natural surroundings.  Learn more about Jeannie at www.jrcreative.biz.