Powell
Summer
by Karen Powell

Between grey clouds
and Norfolk sand
bare legs disregard the breeze
playing with escaped
strands of ponytail hair.

She examines each plastic scoop
for shells, stones smoothed
by North Sea waves,
and worthy of collecting
in a blue bucket.

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION: Paddling in Norfolk (U.K), 1962.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: Watching my granddaughter playing on the beach with a bucket and spade, I remembered watching my daughter doing the same, and this triggered a memory of me as a child also doing the same activity. The combination of these memories was the inspiration for my poem.

Powell (2)a

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Karen Powell lives in Leicester (U.K.), and has an MA in Creative Writing from Nottingham Trent University. Her poetry has been published in soundswrite 2015: an anthology of contemporary poetry, and various magazines including The Interpreter’s House, Ink Sweat & Tears and The Lake. Visit her at karenpowellnotebook.wordpress.com.