hyatt regency cg, fl
Poolside
by Rita Fidler Dorn

Feeling far too fat that day to wear a swimsuit,
but craving the wafting poolside breeze
and fresh, chlorine scent,
I wore a skimpy sun dress to the hotel pool deck
with bra and panties beneath it.

The tranquil swimming pool’s only audience,
he and I sat several lounge chairs away from each other,
respite from the intense verbal, sexual, and emotional intimacy
of the past 24 hours,

Soon bored with the local newsprint and
a recently purchased poetry book,
I wandered over to the Jacuzzi, which was
snugly positioned on the perimeter of the pool court.
Inhabited by a few lone twigs and antisocial insects,
the unpristine water beckoned me seductively. Briefly,
I thought of my rejected swimsuit back in the room.

Lowering my behind onto the dry second step,
and pushing my skirts back,
I let my toes, ankles, calves, knees, and thighs
be caressed by the tepid wetness of the unambitious water.
Slowly inching deeper into its modest depths,
I felt the water then boldly advance
and cooly, confidently, courageously,
rendezvous with the edge of my silk, flowered underpants

PHOTO: Pool at Hyatt Regency Hotel, Coral Gables, Florida.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: I wrote this poem when my husband and I were spending a weekend at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Coral Gables, Florida, using a gift certificate we had shortly before received as a present for our fortieth wedding anniversary. Feeling introspective and pensive that afternoon, I was exquisitely conscious of my body, of us, and of the pool — strangely uninhabited by other guests that warm, sunny afternoon. I wrote the poem to preserve those moments and the vision of my short-term but semi-intimate relationship with the Jacuzzi water.

dorn1

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Rita Fidler Dorn (Ricki) is an English professor at Miami Dade College and Florida International University. She holds an MA in English from Florida International University and a BS in English and Journalism from Ohio State University. She has been a news reporter in New Jersey, Georgia, and Florida. She is a member of South Florida Writers Association, Golden Key International, and Phi Theta Kappa, and was recently invited to join International Women’s Leadership Association. A native New Yorker who grew up in Ohio and long-time Miami resident, Ricki is a visible figure on the academic and creative scenes. She created and leads writing workshops on How to Kickstart Your Own Creativity; Forgiveness; and Grief: Write Your Way Through It. A word game addict, she has been writing poetry since childhood and calls poetry her first language. Strands of Rhyme: Poems from the Real World, published in 2014, is her first book.