moonrise-sir-john-lavery
The Cure for Everything
by Carol H. Jewell

I know the cure for everything: Salt water…in one form or another: Sweat, tears, or the sea. – “The Deluge at Norderney,” Seven Gothic Tales, 1934 (Karen Blixen/Isak Dinesen)

I.

Back
b
   r
      e
         a
            k
               i
                  n
                     g

pulling or pushing
to get
something out
bandana on your head
or
sunhat, dripping
your face
your eyes
the summer garden
the labor bed.

II.

How long do I cry for
all
of
you
how many shirtfronts
are drenched
red eyes RED EYES
hair mussed
snot smeared
a sting, a long ache:
the unending bellow.

III.

I know you dislike
sand between your toes
most fish, shellfish
I put on my w i d e
brimmed hat
take your hand
walk in the low tide
until it’s time to go;
the sunset.

PAINTING: “Moonrise” (Tangier) by Sir John Lavery (1920).

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: My creative process usually consists of me finding a word or line that I like, thinking about it a lot, then writing. I often, but not always, write in a pseudo-Epistolary style, speaking to a particular “you” in my work.

me

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Carol H. Jewell is a mother, grandmother, wife, teacher/librarian/poet living in Upstate New York with her spouse and nine cats. She will complete her MFA at The College of Saint Rose in December 2016. She is insatiably curious.