Frank MOVE photo
Envoi
by Jane Frank

I would have stayed
in that icy world
where forlorn gulls
circle and swoop,

and watery sunlight
splinters through clouds
edged in pewter,
but it’s better that

I disconnect,
pass through this
transit lounge
between two lives.

Way below
through velvet depths,
clustered lights
defined countries,

but my edges blur.
I’ll need to find
a new way of hoping,
of knowing.

The final days are
already obscured
by the hours
since embarking,

so why does the sun
make me wince like that?
and why do I feel most lost
when they say welcome home?

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION: Here I am traveling in the highlands of Scotland in the late 1990s, not long before I returned to the warmth of subtropical Queensland, Australia.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: When I returned to Australia after a number of years of living in Scotland after a relationship ended, I found it just as painful to leave the place, the poets, the sloe gin(!), and the many friends I had made. I still feel a very strong connection to the Dumfries and Galloway area in particular, and return whenever I can.

Jane Frank

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Jane Frank is a poet and academic from Brisbane, Australia. She is the author of Milky Way of Words (Ginninderra Press, 2016). Her poems have appeared in Antipodes, Australian Poetry Journal, Westerly, Takahē, Grey Sparrow, Local Nomad, and elsewhere.