brooklyn-ny1
Sewing curtains
by Joan McNerney

All weekend long,
how quickly my needle
skips over hems.

We won’t have to look
at bricks anymore.

I bought a patch of
celestial blue to hang
from the kitchen window.

A few yards of green
velour in the bedroom
waving like soft meadows.

Green meadows will
keep street lights
from our eyes.

Sewing curtains all
weekend long.

Now that we have
found our own place
hidden from the world.

IMAGE: Brooklyn, New York, postcard by Anderson Design Group, available at zazzle.com.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: When we moved to a new apartment in Brooklyn in 1987, my Michael complained about “looking at the bricks” when we sat down to eat.  I did not like all the street lights shining in my face at night.  So after work one day, I found a shop that sold material and spent the following weekend taking care of those problems.

jmc

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Joan McNerney’s poetry has been included in numerous literary magazines such asSeven Circle Press, Dinner with the Muse, Moonlight Dreamers of Yellow Haze, Blueline, and Spectrum. She has been nominated three times for Best of the Net.