lorraineskala
If I Make that Phone Call to Sari
by James Walton

If I have network coverage today, to call my neighbour
whose house leans out of a hill three kilometres away:

“Hey there Hollywood in your sunglasses
the ones with the white rim,
want to come over and listen to Leonard Cohen
and Amy Winehouse some Miles Davis,
drink red wine or white if you prefer.

After fourteen years next door,
it’s not that big a deal to see if that look
walking back to your car when introduced,
was what I thought it might have been
I may as well ask because I’m here shimmying on my own,

and if I don’t it will be fifteen years soon
and we will run out of time for this conversation.”

IMAGE: “Lady in Red #20” by Lorraine Skala. Prints available at etsy.com.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR:  I was thinking about distance, geographical and emotional, and how either can be traversed. Sometimes it just takes a lot of little steps, or a phone call, and the courage of a moment’s action. Be brave!

walton-jpg

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: James Walton lives in the Strzelecki Mountains in South Gippsland, Australia. He has been published in The Age and Sydney Morning Herald newspapers, and many journals and anthologies. He has been short listed twice for the ACU national Literature Prize, is a double prize winner in the MPU International Poetry Prize, and Specially Commended in The Welsh Poetry Competition. His collection The Leviathan’s Apprentice is available. He’s been a librarian, bred Salers cattle, and was a public sector union official for many years.