creep-hat
If I Were You
by Vincent Van Ross

If I were you,
I wouldn’t have been such a creep

I wouldn’t have
Cribbed so much about everything
I wouldn’t have
Bitched so much about you
I wouldn’t have
Pointed a finger at you
For every little thing

That is…
If I think I were you!

But, if I were really you,
Maybe I would have done
All these and more
Just the way you do!

© Vincent Van Ross

IMAGE: “I’m a Creep” trucker hat, available at zazzle.com.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: I read the “IF I” prompt and the overview carefully. Then I decided I was not going to write anything that the prompt and the overview were pointing to even vaguely. Then, I hit upon this idea of “If I Were You.”  I just thought it  would be different and refreshing!

van-ross

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Vincent Van Ross is a journalist and editor based at New Delhi, India. He writes on national and international politics, defense, environment, travel, spirituality, and scores of other topics. Apart from this, he dabbles in a little bit of poetry, fiction, nonfiction, and humorous writings. His articles and features have appeared in over a dozen newspapers and magazines in India and Bangladesh. He is also a renowned photographer and an art critic. His poems are featured in anthologies and journals across the world and on numerous poetry sites and facebook groups on the web.