gaia
If I Had…
by Patrick T. Reardon

If I had a Mama who would see me.
If I had a Mama who would hear my aching cry.

If I had a Mama who had a soft touch along the skin of my face.
If I had a Mama who had talk for me and eyes to look in my eyes.

If I had a Mama who would hold me as a heart of her heart, not a carton of shit.
If I had a Mama who would not laugh at me.

IMAGE:  A detail from a Roman sculpture of Tellus Mater, the Roman earth-goddess, found at Wikipedia.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: This was written initially in two-beat lines and was about twice as long. I thought it works better with the longer and fewer lines.

reardon-babe-photo

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Patrick T. Reardon, who wrote “Daily Meditations (with Scripture) for Busy Dads,” is the author of the newly published Faith Stripped to Its Essence: A Discordant Pilgrimage through Shusaku Endo’s Silence.

PHOTO: The author in 2014.