emanuel-tanjala
If I had a good luck charm
by Amanda Tanner

If I had a good luck charm,
Could count the cards
And bluff the farm
I would be a dealer’s doom.

If I had that classic beauty
Rocking body
Luscious booty
I could put away my broom.

If I could learn to rock the kitchen
Prepare great meals
Quit my bitchin
I would be the perfect bride.

If I could win the Powerball
Be super rich
And have it all
I would still be by your side.

If I could write a poem for you
To cheer you up
When you are blue
I would write my very best.

No luck, no beauty, no perfect cook
Resting bitch face
Is how I look
Yet I’d say my life is blessed.

IMAGE: “Shamrock Pot V” by Emanuel Tanjala. Prints available at fineartamerica.com.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: This poem sort of came to me after I purchased a (losing) ticket for the PowerBall drawing. It contains my personal dry humor and wit, as well as truth. (Yes, I am afflicted with RBF!)

ifi

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: 
Amanda (call her Nanna) Tanner
is a semi-retired educator and lifelong learner. An eternal optimist, Nanna claims there is nothing that she can’t learn. She will tell you she dabbles in the arts and loves creating things. She paints in oils and acrylics, plays guitar, writes poetry, and sings in the car on road trips. Most recently, she has learned to quilt and has made personal creations for eleven relatives.

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION: Taken in 2013, hiding the RBF!