baby-1918-jpglarge
If I Had A Child
by Thomas Park

If I had a child
With my wife of two years

Our silent place would be noisy
Living room full of toys, activity

A person would be, who came from us
Part myself, part Torrey

The cats would step aside, to
A new occupant, having opposable thumbs

Bank accounts would drop, and free time
No longer free, would be occupied with this person

And travelling, hobbies, selfish activities
Given way to birth, raising, newer priorities

If I had a child, would writing end,
When a real person, walking, talking

Carrying forth my self, my name
Would do the work of chapbooks and anthologies

IMAGE: “Baby” by Gustav Klimt (1918).

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: I wrote this poem by sharing some considerations I have about the notion of having a child with my wife.

thomas_park_current_photo

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Thomas Park is a multi-disciplinary artist. He lives with his wife and their two cats in South Saint Louis, Missouri. He has been published in several anthologies, and quite a bit online. He has a B.A. in English Literature from Northwestern University (Evanston, Illinois).