grandmother-and-granddaughter-1919
If I had understood…
by Poojal Mapari

If I had understood
and not have thought ’bout all the Barbies waiting for me
or the Lollipop rolling itself in my mouth,
I’d rather have had my grandma read stories to me.

If I had understood
and not have thought ’bout all the cartoons yearning for a laugh
or Tom and Jerry playing pranks naughty,
I would rather have not acted frustrated when my grandma lost her keys.

If I had understood
and not have thought ’bout all the TV shows going to air
or the video games I wanted to play,
I’d rather have forgiven my grandma when she forgot my friend’s name.

If I had understood
and not have thought ’bout all the bright dresses I wanted to buy
or the heels on discount,
I’d rather I hadn’t shouted at my grandma for my Maths homework she got all wrong.

If I had understood
and not have thought ’bout that One Direction concert that night
or the Adele album on Amazon,
I’d rather have helped her out when she couldn’t dress up nice.

If I had understood
and not have thought ’bout all the countries I wanted to go
or the adventures I wanted to undertake,
I’d rather have sat with biology on my mind.

If I had understood
and thought ’bout my grandma who was walking towards Alzheimer’s
and away from her 10.0 health,
I’d rather think with her beside me.

IMAGE: “Grandmother and Granddaughter” by Lovis Corinth (1919).

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Poojal Mapari is a 14-year-0ld student with a passion for writing. She is almost always writing and reading. She also loves photography and traveling.