lupert
Spaceship
by Rick Lupert

I think my prized possession was
my Lego spaceship, not made from a set
but handcrafted and conceived

from an original collection of
assorted bricks. It triumphed over
countless adventures where

my bedroom became all of
the universe. It was the only toy I
made a point of keeping after

the eviction when years of
childhood objects stayed in boxes
in an unpaid-for apartment

and, well, who knows what
happened to all of that? It stayed in
a box for over thirty years until

my own son’s sixth birthday.
The tape unsealed, the box opened.
A quick picture and this

time machine was disassembled
and incorporated into his own
collection. I think that was

my prized possession, maybe
until the guitar I got with the sunflower
strap, or maybe it was my first

computer, which was soon
replaced by another, which has been
going on and on, and will

continue to go on and on
as long as technology keeps
outpacing our tolerance

and these physical things
we claim to possess soon disappear
into the Earth where they came from.

I look forward to joining them
soon enough. My prized possession
is the Earth, I think. I take it with me.
wherever I go.

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION: My lego spaceship, first time in California air after over 30 years in a box from Syracuse, New York.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: I tried so hard to stick to the very letter of this writing prompt, but as I started to wax on romantically about what I thought my prized possession was, it’s sudden disassembling had me suspect about objects in general. I love my stuff so much but I think my nihilism is starting to show.

ricklupert-fanchers-10

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Rick Lupert has been involved with L.A. poetry since 1990. He is the recipient of the 2014 Beyond Baroque Literary Arts Center Distinguished Service Award and was a co-director of the Valley Contemporary Poets for two years. He created the Poetry Super Highway and hosted the weekly Cobalt Cafe reading for almost 21 years. His first spoken word album — Rick Lupert Live and Dead, featuring 25 studio and live tracks — was released in March, 2016. He’s authored 20 collections of poetry, including Donut Famine, Professor Clown on Parade, Romancing the Blarney Stone (both forthcoming from Rothco Press in December 2016),  Making Love to the 50 Foot Woman (Rothco Press, May 2015), The Gettysburg Undress, and Nothing in New England is New, and edited the anthologies Ekphrastia Gone WildA Poet’s Haggadah, and the noir anthology The Night Goes on All Night. He also writes and draws (with Brendan Constantine) the daily web comic Cat and Banana and writes the Jewish Poetry column “From the Lupertverse” for JewishJournal.com. He is regularly featured at venues all over the world. Visit him on facebook.

Author photo by Alexis Rhone Fancher.