mcnearney1
Thrift Shop Find
by Joan McNerney

I descended clutching a
teetering banister to the
bowels of that holy place.

A sign welcomed me to
St. Mary’s Basement Boutique
where scent of unloved
clothing assaulted me.

I fingered grubby blouses
and skirts hanging limp
week after week unwanted.

Where is it? Hidden beneath
mounds of faded tee shirts?
Where is that swag I will
always treasure?

At last I uncovered something
beyond belief….a mohair sweater
snow white with pastel flowers.
A good fit, my prayer answered.

Retired ladies glance up.
The cashier consulted her price list.
“One dollar” she said as I reply with
a quick “thanks” fleeing blissfully.

When I got home, my bonanza
was baptized in cool water and suds.
Reborn lustrous and all mine.

PHOTO: The author in her thrift store find.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: I live about 45 minutes by car from any mall and am a devoted second-hand shopper. Many thrift shops are hosted by religious group. Thus, bargain hunting is a major spiritual experience for me.  Sometimes it is very cold here. My lovely mohair sweater can be worn during every season except summer. On those hot humid days, I simply eye my soft pullover knowing cool winds will start soon. My sweater is a perfect fit for a full-sized woman like me and is very feminine with its lovely garland of flowers.  All that for only one dollar! Does a similar treasure await you at a local church basement? Maybe.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Joan McNerney’s poetry has been included in numerous literary magazines, such as Seven Circle Press, Dinner with the Muse, Moonlight Dreamers of Yellow Haze, Blueline, Halcyon Days. three Bright Hills Press Anthologies, several Poppy Road Review Journals, and numerous Kind of A Hurricane Press publications. Her latest title is Having Lunch with the Sky. She has received four Best of the Net nominations.