reardon-never-read
Never read
by Patrick T. Reardon

Never read,
the book I won
at some meeting
of some eighth-grade boys
in a hall in downtown Chicago
 Drop the Dagger!
(and a scholarship)
nudged me to
the seminary
that was the
first step on the
road to here.

I ache
for that boy
who was
running
full tilt
to me,

to sorrow
and elation.

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION: Drop the Dagger! as it looks today.

reardon-nevr-read-reardon-in-1967

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: I had no idea that this would be my “prized possession.” But, when I thought of the things I’ve carried with me through my life, this book came to mind.

PHOTO (right): The author when when he graduated from St. Jude Seminary, four years after winning the Drop the Dagger! book.

reardon-never-read-author

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Patrick T. Reardon, who wrote Daily Meditations (with Scripture) for Busy Dads, is the author of two new books, both from ACTA: Faith Stripped to Its Essence: A Discordant Pilgrimage through Shusaku Endo’s Silence and Edith Wharton: Illuminated by The Message.