Jpeg
My Comfort Friend
by Vijaya Gowrisankar

So soft to touch, my comfort friend
You’ve felt my joy on every achievement
You’ve soaked my tears at every anguish
You’ve heard my fears through whispers

So soft to touch, my comfort friend
I’ve inhaled you when I was uncertain
I’ve crushed you when I was in pain
I’ve danced with you, as my companion

So soft to touch, my comfort friend
My small hands stretched to enfold you
My cheeks rested on you each night
My dreams were all shared with you

So soft to touch, my comfort friend
You’ve seen my grow from a child to adult
You’ve been my support when I left home
My comfort pillow, you know me the best

PHOTO: The author with her prized possession.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: My comfort friend, my little pillow, has been with me since I was three years old. Wherever I go, I take my pillow with me. I can’t imagine my life without my pillow.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Vijaya Gowrisankar released her second book of poems Reflect in December 2015. Her first book, Inspire, published in December 2014, reached bestseller status. She was announced as one of the winners of Inspire by Gandhi competition, organized by Sampad, a UK organization. She has been announced as the Winner of AZsacra International Poetry Award (Dec. 2015). Her submissions have been published in Forwardian, Triadae Magazine, iWrite India, Dystenium Online, Taj Mahal Review, and Silver Birch Press. A participant in the Poetry Marathon 2016  (24 poems in 24 hours, 1 poem per hour), she has also reviewed and edited poetry and fiction books.