cimera

We asked the 97 contributors to the Nancy Drew Anthology (Silver Birch Press, October 2016) to send photos featuring the book in their home environments. Author Tricia Marcella Cimera provided this portrait of herself and collection in front of the welcome sign in St. Charles, Illinois — a city about 40 miles west of Chicago known as “Pride of the Fox,” referring to the beautiful river that runs through the center of town. Tricia  contributed the poem “Nancy Herself,” featured below, to the 212-page anthology.

Nancy Herself

Years ago
in the dark ages, the early 1970s,
I lost a school library book.
I looked everywhere for it.
I retraced my steps,
reconstructed events,
deconstructed fruitless theories,
studied the facts carefully,
cast a narrowed eye on everyone,
just like a certain cool Girl Sleuth I loved.
I could not find that book—
checked out, never
to be checked back in.
Life was different back then for kids,
pre-millennial.
The School Librarian didn’t
give me a gold star, an atta-girl,
for making a solid spunky effort to find it.
I had to replace it, plus
I was labeled a loser
for daring to lose it.
I finally had to tell
my parents about my crime;
they lectured me
on carelessness for days, weeks, months.
The book?
The new Nancy Drew
mystery that mysteriously
disappeared, never to be found again
despite my best attempts
to crack the case.

The irony only just came to me
when I wrote this poem
in celebration of
Nancy

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Tricia Marcella Cimera is a Midwestern poet with a worldview. Look for her work in these diverse places (some forthcoming): Anti-Heroin Chic, Buddhist Poetry Review, The Ekphrastic Review, Foliate Oak, Failed Haiku, I Am Not A Silent Poet, Mad SwirlSilver Birch Press, Yellow Chair ReviewWild Plum and elsewhere.  She has a micro collection of water-themed poems called The Sea and a River on the Origami Poems Project website. Tricia believes there’s no place like her own backyard and has traveled the world (including Graceland). She resides with her husband and family of animals in Illinois/in a town called St. Charles/by a river named Fox. Nancy Drew is one of her fave girl sleuths but Trixie Belden also holds a place in her heart.

Find the Nancy Drew Anthology at Amazon.com.

0 Comments Post your own or leave a trackback: Trackback URL

Leave a Reply

