sittner_1
Hole-y Happy Hat
by Leslie Sittner

white
straw
perforated
brimmed
floppy

protects from the sun
cools the head
hides bad hair

white
straw
perforated
brimmed
floppy

packs easily
always in style
matches everything

white
straw
perforated
brimmed
floppy

elevates my mood
makes me smile, laugh
makes me languid

makes me feel beautiful
                              graceful
                              elegant

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION:  This prompt had me rooting through old photographs looking for this one of me in this hat in 1968 at the American Academy in Rome.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: While we were the spouses of our “Fellows” at the Academy, my friend and I were eager to learn and try new things. She was a model for Valentino and I was messing around doing “extra” work in Italy’s film industry. It was a hoot. She decided she was also a photographer and I need to have a head shot book. We spent a day shooting me is various scenarios. The minute I put this old hat of mine on, I truly felt like a star. (Even with a face full of freckles.) We developed the selected shots ourselves and I’ve kept them all these years. They always give me wistful memories of my young adventures.

sittner_2

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Leslie Sittner has been turning to the written word as a form of self-expression and reflection. Two of her stories are now available in print in The Apple Tree by Third Age Press, and on-line prose at 101Words, 50 Word Challenge, and 50 Word Stories. A variety of other prose and poetry can also be seen on-line at Silver Birch Press. She is finishing a book about travels with her ex-husband and hopes a publisher will find it as humorous as she and her writer-friends do.