hat
Akin to a crown
by Vijaya Gowrisankar

The big day for the school play dawned
The stage was all set, the chairs arranged
The costumes were given to each of us
I was dressed in my princess dress and
I was handed a pretty, pink princess hat

It was a play that showed the essence of cultures,
as an Indian princess met an English princess
The hat transformed my character – It made me
feel demure, yet proud. It was lightweight,
a snug fit, a perfect match with my pink frock

The beautiful bow complimented the frills of my frock
Every movement of the hat made me feel carefree
It felt like a crown and boosted my confidence
I felt loved and cherished from beneath the brim
I forgot my nervousness and the lines flowed

For a girl, who struggled with her script at each
rehearsal – The amazing feeling of wearing a hat
transformed my anxiety into excitement and took me
to a different world. As I received compliments for
my performance, I touched my hat and whispered a thanks

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION: I do not have that hat with me, after all these years — but this one is similar.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: I was an English princess in my school play. It was the first time that I had worn a hat. Since then, I love seeing hats. I stop at shops selling hats and touch them to feel their texture and recollect this memory.

gowrisankar1

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: 
Vijaya Gowrisankar
 released her second book of poems Reflect in December 2015. Her first book, Inspire, published in December 2014, reached bestseller status. She was announced as one of the winners of Inspire by Gandhi competition, organized by Sampad, a UK organization. She has been announced as the Winner of AZsacra International Poetry Award (Dec. 2015). Her submissions have been published in Forwardian, Triadae Magazine, iWrite India, Dystenium Online, Taj Mahal Review, and Silver Birch Press. A participant in the Poetry Marathon 2016  (24 poems in 24 hours, 1 poem per hour), she has also reviewed and edited poetry and fiction books. She participated in NaNoWriMo 2016 and completed her first novel in November 2016.