cimera

Hat, Hold Me Down
by Tricia Marcella Cimera

World keeps swirling swirling at
the mind/body/spirit Theosofest
filled with colors/gods/people
but my hat holds me down on
on the ground/keeps me cool
centered & quite sound.
I know it’s just an illusion.
But what isn’t in this big old twirling whirling world?

PHOTO: The author at Theosofest 2016 (The Theosophical Society, Wheaton, Illinois).

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: Per The Theosophical Society, “TheosoFEST is an annual open-house festival celebrating the wisdom of the ages, the unity of all life, and spiritual self-transformation.” It’s a truly inclusive festival where many world religions are represented and celebrated; it’s how life should be in my opinion. I wore my Panama hat amidst the colors, the gods, the people. This hat belonged to my father and makes me feel jaunty and sentimental, two things my dad was. The poem itself is a hat (hey, presto!). My husband, Rob, took the accompanying photograph with my cell phone while shaking the phone. I was delighted to see the results. Cool, no?

cimera-author-photo

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Tricia Marcella Cimera
is a Midwestern poet with a worldview. Look for her work in these diverse places (some forthcoming): Anti-Heroin Chic, Buddhist Poetry Review, The Ekphrastic Review, Foliate Oak, Failed Haiku, I Am Not A Silent Poet, Mad Swirl, Silver Birch Press, Wild Plum, and elsewhere. She has a micro collection of water-themed poems called THE SEA AND A RIVER on the Origami Poems Project website. Tricia believes there’s no place like her own backyard and has traveled the world (including Graceland). She lives with her husband and family of animals in Illinois / in a town called St. Charles / by a river named Fox. She has always liked the Joe Cocker song “You Can Leave Your Hat On.”

PHOTO: The author in Sonnenberg, Germany, 1994, wearing a pleather cap.