white
Transitions
by Lynn White

When I was seventeen
it was seemed a very good year.
I’d moved slowly
back and forth
across the threshold
between child and adult
for a long time.
And it felt a long time still,
since I’d been ready,
ready
to take that final leap.
Now I was approaching
a new threshold,
hovering between
ballroom and beat.
Moving on from US rock
to the Mersey sound
and British Blues.
Moving from home
to a new town
where I could escape
the mother’s mould
and I was ready,
ready
to to take that leap
and embrace independence.
Ready.
But less confident than
the face I showed.
Excited
by the brightness
of my future.
Afraid
of the dark mushroom cloud
hanging above us all.
And I was ready,
ready
to do what
I could
about it all
when I
crossed
the threshold
and moved on.

PHOTO: The author at 17 in Southampton ,UK (1962).

white1-1

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Lynn White lives in north Wales. Her work is influenced by issues of social justice and events, places, and people she has known or imagined. She is especially interested in exploring the boundaries of dream, fantasy, and reality. Her poem “A Rose For Gaza” was shortlisted for the Theatre Cloud “War Poetry for Today” competition 2014. This and many other poems have been published on-line and some rather excellent online and print journals. Visit her on facebook and at lynnwhitepoetry.blogspot.com.