eknoian
The Summer of Possibilities
by Barbara Eknoian

I entered Lake Hopatcong’s
only ice cream parlor.
He was standing behind the soda fountain
and I noticed his white blond hair.
Just so I could see him every day,
I ordered sundaes, apple turnovers
and banana splits.
By summer’s end, I had gained ten lbs.
One day he canoed past our hotel dock
looking for me,
but I had gone home for the weekend.
Many nights that winter I fantasized
how I would be more outgoing
and by summer
I’d land a date with him.
I arrived at the lake on a sunny
June morning and he whizzed by
in his pink convertible
with three friends.
Later, I entered the ice cream parlor
expecting to see him, but found out
he had just left for the Navy.
That summer, every time I heard
“Tears on my Pillow”
on the radio
I cried for him.

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION: This was photo was taken in 1957 (Belmar, New Jersey).

SOURCE: Previously published in the author’s poetry collection, Why I Miss New Jersey.

barb-eknoian

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Barbara Eknoian’s work has appeared in Pearl, Chiron Review, Cadence Collective Anthology, and Silver Birch Press’s Silver, Green, Summer, NOIR Erasure Poetry, and Self-Portrait anthologies. She resides in La Mirada, California, with her family. Her poetry book, Why I Miss New Jersey, and a novel, a family saga,  Monday’s Child are available at Amazon.