waldronphoto
It’s All About the Style
by Jen Waldron

Finally, at seventeen I was on my own. I moved into a typical college dorm room excited to do my own decorating. I coated the walls with sophistication seldom seen. There were Billy Joel posters, album (yes, album) covers, a map of Connecticut, snowmobile trail markers, pink feathers, my name in felt and all things sentimental. It was quite a mystery as to why I wasn’t there as a design major.

No sooner had my parents said goodbye and pulled out of the parking lot, did I begin a wardrobe overhaul. I pried the metal taps off the bottom of my tap shoes and now had black pumps to wear with denim. I tore holes in the knees of every pair of jeans I owned. I decided my signature style would involve fringe and off the shoulder shirts. I took the warm, sensible red sweatshirt packed to keep me comfortable while studying and began cutting. I cut the neck and the arms away. Then I chopped off the waist and created the fringe. There I was full of style and grace.

Gone was the preppy teenager. I spent my entire freshman year looking like a groupie, complete with raccoon eyeliner, hair with wings, and a Van Halen t-shirt. Every mother’s dream.

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION: SIgnature Fringe,  1982, college dorm.

waldron

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Jen Waldron was born and raised in northern New England, and now resides with her husband of more than 30 years just outside sunny Atlanta, Georgia. When not working as a registered nurse, her time is spent writing and baking, and then baking and writing. Previous and current publications are based upon personal memories and the humor in life. She is incredibly thankful for three wonderful sons, a lovely daughter-in-law, and three adorable grandsons, none of whom have caused her a moment of stress. Vacations are spent along a multitude of coastlines because secretly she wishes sea glass hunting were an actual occupation.