pearce-1
On the edge of a prime
by Sarah Pearce

Sometimes,
transitions
slide by unnoticed, gradually,
only visible in photographs.
Usually, though,
transitions
slam
into place,
childhood
transitioned
to adulthood when
my head slammed
against a dashboard,
airbag emitting
gritty dust in my lungs,
but that headache doesn’t rival
the heartache
of watching a friend,
who was in that same car,
lowered into a grave
two days later.
Life does not move fast.
It doesn’t move and doesn’t move
and doesn’t move, and then—
and then it all happens at once.

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION:  Me (left) and my friend, at 17 before homecoming (February 2005).

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: I find my creative voice mostly in early mornings, or jarring me awake at any hour of the night. I sleep light, and get a lot of my creative work done then, with a lot of my implementation complete in the wee hours of the morning before my family wakes up.

pearce-current1

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Sarah Pearce
is a full-time reporter in Midwestern Illinois. She is establishing her freelance career and is a mother to a toddler and two rescue dogs. You can find her at sarahelizabethpearce.wordpress.com.