resident-magazine-2016-holiday-editorial-photo-by-andrew-werner-ahw_7141
The Dressing Room at Neiman Marcus
by Tiffany Buck

I am a size 2 and I look good in clothes.
The dressing rooms at Neiman Marcus; on the tiered stage in front of the three-way mirror I declare my plans.
I will live in London after college and be an artist of some sort.
The man I marry will be noble, he may be the lowest form of nobility, but by God he will be noble.
After two years in London, and every other weekend in Paris, I will become fluent in French.
Children? Depends on what kind of nanny I can get.

The world is full of promise and possibility at 17.
My wish today is to go back to that Neiman Marcus dressing room, try on a $5000.00 dress and believe that the world is my oyster.
What a beauty 17 is.

PHOTO: Resident Magazine (December 2016). — Katrina in Elie Youssef blush dress and Oscar de la Renta earrings @ Neiman Marcus (Room by Sasha Bikoff).

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: Creatively, I go with what grabs my attention first. It has to be organic. If I manically search for inspiration, I will usually not find it.

buck1

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Tiffany Buck is married with a spirited daughter who will be 17 in just 14 short years. She is a former librarian and lives in the foothills of Appalachia. Currently she is a stay-at-home mom who enjoys writing and making cosmetics. She hopes you will enjoy her reminiscence of her seventeenth year. Tiffany is active on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION: Myself and my daughter Carter Frances on St. Simon’s Island, Georgia (May 2014).