Web
Sweet 17
by Terri Miller

It’s May 1980
Spring Formal
Another brick in the wall
by Pink Floyd is playing on the radio

My Jr Prom
My first date
Blind date at my Jr Prom

Gorgeous guy
blonde hair
blue eyes
dressed in white

Myself a blue chiffon gown
done up to boot

Pictures were taken lol
with me and my mystery man

Food was horrible
but who had
time to notice
with five couples
to a table

Few words were
exchanged
as we didn’t know
each other

Schoolmates were jealous
of my mystery man

As we danced to
You take my breath away,
by Berlin

The night ended

IMAGE: “Blue prom dress,” illustration by Fairy Fortune, used by permission.

terri-miller

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Terri Miller was born and raised in Rhode Island, but now resides in the country part  of Florida. A country girl at heart, she has been writing since grade school. In 2013, after the death of her brother, her poetry became darkened. Around 2015, the darkness lifted. She is a lover of life’s simpler things. Her inspiration for poetry is rooted in faith and family, in love, nature and words.  She believes life is poetry waiting to be written!  What she looks at seems to make her write. She can’t wait to get her thoughts written down, but it’s not always at the right time, because there are so many other things that she should be doing. Like anything else, she is a work in progress and is presently under Major Construction. Follow along for inspiration or for simple enjoyment at Mia’s Wisdom and My Poetry Express.