Gallegos1
Summer Lost in Summer
by Martina Gallegos

I got her just before the end of spring;
she was boisterous as can be
and refused to sleep in her bed.
She was easy to potty-trained
and quickly loved to go for walks.
She didn’t mind baths too much
and ran like a Tazmanian Devil afterwards.
It was the same at the doggie park,
but all this happened before I got sick.
She even ran out of the house a few times
and ran super fast and looked like a Bambi,
but we always managed to catch her.
On my first outing after my incident,
she went with me to celebrate 4th of July;
the idea of firecrackers didn’t clue me in;
they were neither good for her nor me,
but I could cover my ears, not she.
Then she started smelling food all over;
her rear perked up quickly.
She wanted food and wasn’t going to wait.
She began pulling away from me,
and I couldn’t hold her back; I was too weak.
My weak left hand didn’t help my right;
I let go, and she zoomed out of sight.
I saw when a lady took hold of the leash,
but I could barely walk; I’d lost summer
in midsummer.
I hoped she’d come back but never did;
I missed having her sleep next to me
and take naps in my lap and going for walks.
I’d cry for many nights and actually
felt her next to me but never was.
It’s been almost five years, and I still miss her;
I’d ask for her back if I saw her again
even though now I have another rescue pet.

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION: I took Summer’s picture at the beginning of summer 2013; she’d just taken a bath and was rolling on my bed.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: I’d lost the sweetest rescue dog to cancer, so after a couple of years I realized I needed a companion since my daughter was going off to college. We learned somebody was giving puppies away. My daughter, my brother, and I went to visit the family. They told us they’d planned to open the gate and let the pups free. When my daughter was shown one of the pups, I knew she was going home with us, and she did. This was back in late 2012. I lost my pet July 4, 2013, and I still miss all my pets.

Gallegos Robles

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Martina Gallegos 
came to the U.S. from Mexico as a teenager and lived in Altadena and Pasadena through high school. She then moved to Oxnard and attended community college and university, getting her teaching credential. She graduated with her M.A. June 2015 after a severe stroke. Works have appeared in Altadena Review, Hometown Pasadena, Silver Birch Press, Spectrum, Somos en escrito, Spirit Fire Review, and Basta! She was named San Gabriel Valley Top Ten Poet. Her book, Stepping Stones: Journal to Recovery from Stroke and Brain Injury is now also available on Amazon.

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION: I don’t recall who took my picture, but it was the same year, 2013, at College Park in Oxnard, California.