Lupert
My Last Thought
by Rick Lupert

I’d like to tell you about the physical
things that I’ve lost, but my intangible
memory is one of them.

I’d like to tell you about the Teddy
Bear of my youth but I know exactly
where it is (or I should say

where he is because that’s the kind of
relationship we had, and I can only hope,
the kind of relationship he

now has with my ex-girlfriend, or perhaps
with her children – it’s been so many years.
I’d like to tell you about my

first poetry journal, though I’m loathe to
call it that as I didn’t know I was writing
poetry at the time.

I called it a book of my thoughts and
that’s what I said when I handed it to
Art Garfunkel that day

at the radio station. (You see, I haven’t
lost my ability to name-drop.) I said
Hello Mr. Garfunkel. This is

a book of my thoughts and it would mean
so much to me if you would sign it.
He took it in his hands

and wrote Rick, I’m your next thought.
Art Garfunkel. That little book fit in my
little pocket. Or at least I

thought it did until one day it wasn’t there.
I think it left when I was getting out of my car
I searched the curb.

I eyed the storm drain with suspicion.
I floated my eyes down the L.A. River.
I took to the ocean like

an autograph in a bottle. I stared at every wave
as far away as Japan, for one glimpse
of my last thought.

Every word I’ve written since has been
meant to replace those. Here are some of them.
Keep them safe for me.

PHOTO: Rick Lupert and Art Garfunkel, sharing their glorious hairstyles, on the day Art became Rick’s last thought.

ricklupert-fanchers-10

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Rick Lupert
 has been involved with L.A. poetry since 1990. He is the recipient of the 2014 Beyond Baroque Literary Arts Center Distinguished Service Award and was a co-director of the Valley Contemporary Poets for two years. He created the Poetry Super Highway and hosted the weekly Cobalt Cafe reading for almost 21 years. His first spoken word album — Rick Lupert Live and Dead, featuring 25 studio and live tracks — was released in March 2016. He’s authored 20 collections of poetry, including Donut Famine, Professor Clown on Parade, Romancing the Blarney Stone,  Making Love to the 50 Foot Woman (Rothco Press, May 2015), The Gettysburg Undress, and Nothing in New England is New, and edited the anthologies Ekphrastia Gone WildA Poet’s Haggadah, and the noir anthology The Night Goes on All Night. He also writes and draws (with Brendan Constantine) the daily web comic Cat and Banana and writes the Jewish Poetry column “From the Lupertverse” for JewishJournal.com. He is regularly featured at venues all over the world. Visit him on facebook.

Author photo by Alexis Rhone Fancher.