ring1
Celtic Friendship Knot
by Kirsty A. Niven

A solid gold band, intricately weaved.
Its cool metal used to hug my finger.
Twisting and turning, round and round,
the knotwork never ending
and never beginning.

You told me it was a symbol
of how our friendship would last forever.
The ring was Gran’s before me.
Connecting us across the miles between us,
I wore it every day.

I hate to imagine what became of it,
stolen away in the night.
Was it liquefied over a furnace?
Or does it sit on the finger of some fat wife?
A link lost to me

IMAGE: Celtic ring found at etsy.com.

kn-bio

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Kirsty A. Niven
is from Dundee, Scotland, where she lives with her husband and two cats. Her poetry has appeared in The Dawntreader, The Machinery, GFT Presents: One in Four, Sarasvati, A Prince Tribute, LOVE: A Collection of Poetry and Prose on Loving and Being in Love, Poetry Super Highway, Artificial Womb, the Ground Fresh Thursday series, Journeys Dundee and numerous other publications.