bennett1
My Sister’s Bracelet
by Nina Bennett

When the box arrives
I place it unopened
in my top dresser drawer,
where it sits for several days.
Late at night, alone
in the room that used to be hers,
I slowly peel away the heavy
brown paper, thinking
there should be a ritual
for this sort of thing.
Squeezed snugly on my thin wrist,
the silver cuff outlasts
two wedding bands and the grubby
hands of three grandchildren.

SOURCE: Previously published The Broadkill Review, 2008.

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION: My sister’s bracelet.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: My sister died in 1987. Her boyfriend had told me he wanted me to have the jewelry he’d given her, but he couldn’t find this bracelet. He tracked it down to the hospital where she died, retrieved it, and mailed it to me.

nina2015

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Delaware native Nina Bennett is the author ofSound Effects (2013, Broadkill Press Key Poetry Series). Her poetry has been nominated for the Best of the Net, and has appeared or is forthcoming in publications that include Gargoyle, I-70 Review, Reunion: The Dallas Review, Bryant Literary Review, Yale Journal for Humanities in Medicine, Philadelphia Stories, and The Broadkill Review. Awards include 2014 Northern Liberties Review Poetry Prize, and second-place in poetry book category from the Delaware Press Association (2014). Nina is a founding member of the TransCanal Writers