The Letter You Should Have Sent
found by Paul Andrews

Dear Eva, I like you very much. My impression of you is of a very kind, intelligent and gifted person. I can only assume that you are thinking about the future, like all of us are. I have been thinking about the future, what sort of life I would like to try to live, what sort of person I would like to try to be with. I think that I would like to continue with academia in some way. If I’m lucky, I’ll wind up becoming a librarian or an editor or a proofreader. Any job close to manuscripts of some kind will be satisfying. I don’t want anything more than that, and wouldn’t know what to do with it. There are several things I would like to do with my life: I would like to read a lot, visit foreign countries someday, and write a lot. I would also like to find someone to share my life with. And, if I am lucky, I will be with someone like you. Thank you for your company. You should know, if you don’t already, that you are a magical person. P.

IMAGE: “Portrait of a Seated Person Holding a Letter” by Salvador Dali (1923).

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: I found this poem on a public bus.