Wiley Found Fish
Impulse Shopping in Southampton
by Lisa Wiley

I didn’t need a pair of goldfish earrings,
but you impressed me with a story.

Inspired by a character from Bucolic Plague,
a crossdresser in a past life,

you designed these glass tangerine fish
to dangle from his bra.

These tiny treasures I found, relics
to remember I stepped out of my life once

to attend this writing workshop
on this lonely, sandy patch of Long Island.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR:  I wandered around town aimlessly on my one day off from the Southampton Writers Conference 2013 not having been alone much in 13 years since my children were born.

Wiley author photo1

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Lisa Wiley
teaches English at Erie Community College in Buffalo, New York. She is the author of two chapbooks—My Daughter Wears Her Evil Eye to School (The Writer’s Den, 2015) and Chamber Music (Finishing Line Press, 2013). Her poetry has appeared in The Healing Muse, Medical Journal of Australia, Mom Egg Review, Rockhurst Review, Silver Birch Press, Third Wednesday, and Yale Journal for Humanities in Medicineamong others. She serves as a regional judge for Poetry Out Loud and has read her work throughout New York State. Visit her on Twitter.

PHOTO: The author and former U.S. Poet Laureate Billy Collins at SUNY Stony Brook, July 2013.