ping
The Story of When I Lost Ping
by Tricia Marcella Cimera

In the book, Ping the Chinese duck
gets lost on the Yangtze River.
In my life, I lost The Story About Ping book.
We were both scared of getting our
tail feathers spanked, Ping and I.
But Ping found his way back to his
boat eventually and I found the book,
dew-soaked in the wet garden grass.
We shook the water off our backs
and sailed on, me and Ping the duck.

IMAGE: Cover of The Story About Ping (1933),

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: When I was six, I lost The Story About Ping. It was the first book I ever lost but wouldn’t be the last. I felt terrible when I realized Ping was nowhere to be found because taking good care of my belongings was strongly impressed upon me by my parents. Thus was born my guilt complex. Even after finding the book, my complex lived on (and on).

Cimera

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Tricia Marcella Cimera
is a Midwestern poet with a worldview. Look for her work in these diverse places (some forthcoming): Anti-Heroin Chic, Buddhist Poetry Review, The Ekphrastic Review, Failed Haiku, I Am Not A Silent Poet, Mad Swirl, Silver Birch Press, The Bees are Dead, Wild Plum and elsewhere. She has two micro collections, THE SEA AND A RIVER and BOXBOROUGH POEMS, on the Origami Poems Project website. Tricia believes there’s no place like her own backyard and has traveled the world (including Graceland). She lives with her husband and family of animals in Illinois / in a town called St. Charles / by a river named Fox and keeps a Poetry Box in her front yard.