buffalo plaid
Inheritance
by Roberta Beary

the funeral was months ago and i want the big buffalo plaid jacket which i
     find
gone from its usual place on a back hook in the dark of the front hall
     closet
maybe it went to the maintenance man for his help with the boxes or
maybe one of my brothers took it and then conveniently forgot to tell me
but the more i think about it the more i realize that never again will i feel
its scratchy red and black wool as i inhale the sweet pipe smell of him
since like much of my life i have left it too late

                                        parade over
                                                   one last twirl
                                                          of her baton

SOURCE: First published in Modern Haiku 38:3 Autumn 2007.

IMAGE: Buffalo plaid fabric.

BEARY

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Roberta Beary is the haibun editor for Modern Haiku. In 2017 The Haiku Foundation named her its first Roving Ambassador. Currently in Europe, she is circumnavigating the globe with her husband to spread the haiku word.

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION: This photo was taken after my father’s death during one of my many visits to care for my mom (and to look for my father’s jacket, so it could care for me).