500 rupee notes
My Hidden Treasure
by Vincent Van Ross

I saved up
Ten 500-rupee-notes
For the rainy day
Several years ago

Many rainy days
Came and went
In my life
Like unseasonal showers

But, I never found
My savings
When I needed
Them most

One seldom finds
In the hour of need
What one puts away
In safe custody

Recently, I was leafing
Through the pages of an old book
When I came upon
My hidden treasure

But, by the time I found them,
They were of no use to me—
The government had
Withdrawn those notes!

IMAGE: 500-rupee notes of the Mahatma Gandhi Series demonetized by the Government of India on 11/8/2016.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: The government demonetised 500- and 1,000-rupee notes on November 8, 2016 and kept the window for exchanging the old currency notes open till December 31, 2016. I found these notes on March 14, 2017.

Ross

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Vincent Van Ross is a journalist and editor based at New Delhi in India. He writes on national and international politics, defence, environment, travel, spirituality and scores of other topics. Apart from this, he dabbles in a little bit of poetry, fiction, nonfiction, and humorous writings. Vincent’s articles and features have appeared in over a dozen newspapers and magazines in India and Bangladesh. He is also a renowned photographer and an art critic. His poems are featured in anthologies and journals across the world and on numerous poetry sites and facebook groups on the web.