earring1
See-saw of emotions
by Vijaya Gowrisankar

The lunch bell gong! We gobbled our lunch
and ran down from the first floor to the
playground, as fast as we could

Our small legs, all of seven years, was ready
for exercise, as we decided to play catch-catch
After ten minutes, we huffed and puffed

We stood holding our stomach, to catch our breath
My classmate looked at me and asked “Where is
your other earring?” I looked at her, blank

She pointed to my left ear. I realized that my
earring was missing. My first expensive present,
the loops of gold, I had received on my birthday

last week. My mother’s words rang in my ear
“Be careful, and touch your ear often to ensure
your earring is there”. Twin tears, big ones

rolled down my cheeks. My friends consoled me
and we started our search. I had checked my ears
before I had come to play. We searched between

the grass, for the vast expanse where we had
run. Each friend in a different direction. Dejected,
we quit our search as our school bell rang.

What would I tell my mother? my mind wondered
Preoccupied, I followed my friend who pulled me along
As I reached the classroom door, a friend ran out

“Look, your ring!” she said. “I found it lying next
to the door.” All my friends circled me and hugged

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: This poem is my first memory of losing something precious and the feeling of loss. The memory is sweetened by the joy in finding the lost item.

gowrisankar1 (1)

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Vijaya Gowrisankar
 released three books of poems, Explore, Reflectand Inspire, all of which are bestsellers. Her submissions have been published in Silver Birch Press, Nancy Drew Anthology, Poetry Marathon 2016 Anthology, Sometimes Anyway: Pride in Poetry Volume II, Forwardian, Triadae Magazine, iWrite India, Dystenium Online, and Taj Mahal Review anthologies. She has appeared as guest speaker in colleges. A participant in the Poetry Marathon 2016 (24 poems in 24 hours, 1 poem per hour), she has reviewed and edited poetry and fiction books. She participated in NaNoWriMo 2016 and completed her first novel in November 2016. She is working on a fourth book. Follow her on Facebook and Twitter.