cleaning
Light Housekeeping
by Tricia Marcella Cimera

My first job at 13:
Light housekeeping
for the little old lady
across the street.
One day she told me:
My first husband
was a brute;
so rough, you know,
down there.
I shivered and
vacuumed on,
hid my red face
behind my hair.
Her second husband
sat on the sofa
with nothing to say,
politely mute.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: I worked for Mrs. Hamilton (the “little old lady across the street”) for a year and in that time, she had lots to say.  Finally I couldn’t take it anymore and begged my mother to let me quit, which she did because she never forced me to take that job in the first place.  Even then, I was misguidedly responsible and stoic.  I’m trying to change that.

Cimera

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: 
Tricia Marcella Cimera
is a Midwestern poet with a worldview. Look for her work in these diverse places (some forthcoming): Anti-Heroin Chic, Buddhist Poetry Review, The Ekphrastic Review, Failed Haiku, I Am Not A Silent Poet, Mad Swirl, Silver Birch Press, The Bees are Dead, Wild Plum, and elsewhere.  Her poem “The Stag” recently won first place honor in College of DuPage’s Writers Read: Emerging Voices contest.  Tricia believes there’s no place like her own backyard and has traveled the world (including Graceland).  She lives with her husband and family of animals in Illinois / in a town called St. Charles / by a river named Fox and keeps a Poetry Box in her front yard.  Her dream job is taking care of baby goats.