dark-young-woman-seated-by-a-bed-1918.jpg!Large
Babysitter
by Allison Carvalho

My first job was dull and I did most of my work on the couch
I was a lady of the night
While the parents went off to play.

My first job groomed me for suburbancy
Prepared me for the life my lady lineage had lived
My first job had given me a stamp of adulthood
At 13 years old.

My first job was domestic.

You see,
My first job was riddled with ethics of care
Patronizing fathers
And mothers who couldn’t do it all.

My first job marked the moment between girl and woman,
And yet for so many women
It isn’t considered work.

IMAGE: “Young woman seated” by Amedeo Modlgliani (1918).

allison

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Allison Carvalho is a student, researcher, and aspiring adult. Her poetry tries to acknowledge how societal constructions/assumptions inform personal experience. Her work ironically covers relationships, gender oppression, emotionality, grief, and the occasional reference to the evils of capitalism. She is always a week behind on her word of the day calendar. She likes using the word “she” a lot. And if you knew her, you might only maybe guess she wrote this poem.