spoons-1964

My First Boss
by Vincent Francone

My first boss told me to wash dishes, showed me the sink, the hose a hook that I was to position, squeeze out the blustery stream, hunt for flour and red sauce caking the bits of machine.

Years later, I lied—told a girl I was fired for smoking Camels in the kitchen, even said I’d ashed my cigarette into the dishwater.

Truth: I was slow.  It was my first job. I had no drive, no desire to move up to stretching dough or painting with red sauce, making mozzarella rain, counting the precise number of pepperoni discs per uncooked pie, smiling at mall dwellers who condescended to my station having decided against three straight days of Dairy Queen burgers.

The boss had the decency to fire me over the phone.  He saved my mom a trip to the mall.  A week later, I picked up my check.  It wasn’t much, but I deserved less.

IMAGE: “Spoons” by Paul Wonner (1964).

vf-at-millers

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Vincent Francone
 is a writer from Chicago whose memoir, Like a Dog, was published in the fall of 2015.  He won first place in the 2009 Illinois Emerging Writers Competition (Gwendolyn Brooks Award) and is at work on a collection of poems and stories. Visit vincentfrancone.com to read his work or say hi.