roig_move
Be It Ever So Humble
by Kerfe Roig

No house is home I won’t be
hanging my hat it
will remain in hand ever
ready or tossed so
casually waiting humble
on boxes right there
boxes piled between what is
temporary no
more than just a resting place
a stop that looks like
moving day no house is home

IMAGE: “Move,” collage by Kerfe Roig.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: Currently living in my 18th residence, I still have unpacked boxes, and boxes in storage, from the last move. Most of my moves have been as an adult, within New York City, so although the particular address changes, and the unpacking is always uncompleted, the city itself feels very much like home.
If you look at the last word of each line, you will see that I created my shovel poem with the sentence “be it ever so humble there is no place like home”.

roig_portrait

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Kerfe Roig
enjoys transforming words and images into something new. Follow her explorations on the blog she does with her friend Nina: methodtwomadness.wordpress.com.

Self-portrait by Kerfe Roig.